The item beside this text is an advertisement


Filed under: Awards

Related posts

Canadian Authors Association announces winners of 2012 Literary Awards

The Canadian Authors Association has revealed the winners of its annual literary awards, presented during the Leacock Summer Festival in Orillia, Ontario, on July 28.

Founded in 1975, the CAA awards are presented to writers who maintain literary excellence along with popular appeal.

The winners are:

CAA Lela Common Award for Canadian History
Richard Gwyn, Nation Maker: Sir John A. MacDonald: His Life, Our Times, Volume Two: 1867–1891 (Random House Canada)

CAA Award for Fiction
Patrick deWitt, The Sisters Brothers (House of Anansi Press)

CAA Poetry Award
Goran Simić, Sunrise in the Eyes of the Snowman (Biblioasis)

2012 Emerging Writer
Ryan Flavelle, The Patrol: Seven Days in the Life of a Canadian Soldier in Afghanistan (HarperCollins Canada)

The winners in the history, fiction, and poetry categories received a silver medal and $2,000 each. Flavelle was awarded a $500 cash prize.

Comments are closed.

The item directly under this text is an advertisement
Book Pictures

Do you have great photos from a recent book event in Canada that you'd like to share with us? Submit them to the Quill & Quire Flickr pool and they'll show up here.

Steve Artelle

Chris Jennings

Kaie Kellough


Hall of Honourers

Brandon Wint

The item directly under this text is an advertisement

Recent comments