The item beside this text is an advertisement

Frank O’Connor longlist announced

The 2013 Frank O’Connor International Short Story longlist has been announced, with eight Canadian women (plus two men) contending for the €25,000 prize.

Among the 75 longlisted authors are Junot Diáz, Joyce Carol Oates, 2010 winner Ron Rash, George Saunders, and Molly Ringwald (yes, that Molly Ringwald).

The Canadian authors are:

Correction: An earlier version of this story neglected to include Ayelet Tsabari on the list of Canadian nominees.

  • Sean

    Hey, you guys missed a Canadian! Ayelet Tsabari was born in Israel, but she lives and writes in Toronto. Her book, The Best Place on Earth, was published by HarperCollins Canada. Just thought you should know.

The item directly under this text is an advertisement
Book Pictures

Do you have great photos from a recent book event in Canada that you'd like to share with us? Submit them to the Quill & Quire Flickr pool and they'll show up here.

Steve Artelle

Chris Jennings

Kaie Kellough


Hall of Honourers

Brandon Wint

Eva Stachniak's Empress of the Night

Eva Stachniak poses with a copy of her book, Empress of the Night

Tea and snacks inspired by Eva Stachniak's Empress of the Night

Rimma Burashko with author Eva Stachniak

Eva Stachniak talks to the audience about the best and worst of Catherine the Great's favourites

Eva Stachniak smiles as she signs a copy of Empress of the Night for a fan

The item directly under this text is an advertisement

Recent comments