The item beside this text is an advertisement


Filed under: Awards , ,

Related posts

Christopher Meades wins CAA Literary Award

On June 15 at a ceremony in Orillia, Ontario, Vancouver’s Christopher Meades was presented with the Canadian Authors Association’s fiction award for his novel The Last Hiccup (ECW Press).

Founded in 1975, the CAA Literary Awards are presented to writers who “achieve excellence without sacrificing popular appeal.”

The other winners are:

CAA Lela Common Award for Canadian History
Michael S. Cross, A Biography of Robert Baldwin: The Morning-Star of Memory (Oxford University Press)

CAA Poetry Award
Don McKay, Paradoxides (McClelland & Stewart)

2013 Emerging Writers
Claire Battershill, Jay Bahadur

Each winner receives $2,000 and a silver medal. Co-winnersBattershill and Bahadur split the $500 prize for emerging writer.


Comments are closed.

The item directly under this text is an advertisement
Book Pictures

Do you have great photos from a recent book event in Canada that you'd like to share with us? Submit them to the Quill & Quire Flickr pool and they'll show up here.

Steve Artelle

Chris Jennings

Kaie Kellough


Hall of Honourers

Brandon Wint

Eva Stachniak's Empress of the Night

Eva Stachniak poses with a copy of her book, Empress of the Night

Tea and snacks inspired by Eva Stachniak's Empress of the Night

Rimma Burashko with author Eva Stachniak

Eva Stachniak talks to the audience about the best and worst of Catherine the Great's favourites

Eva Stachniak smiles as she signs a copy of Empress of the Night for a fan

The item directly under this text is an advertisement

Recent comments