The item beside this text is an advertisement


Related posts

C.E. Gatchalian wins Dayne Ogilive Prize

Vancouver playwright C.E. Gatchalian has won this year’s Dayne Ogilive Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers.

Presented by The Writers’ Union of Canada, the $4,000 prize is given annually to an emerging gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender writer.

Gatchalian, who was nominated for a 2013 Lambda Literary Award for his play, Falling in Time, is currently the artistic producer at Vancouver’s Frank Theatre Company. Dayne Ogilive Prize jurors Amber Dawn, Anne Fleming, and Vivek Shraya praised Gatchalian for “reaching ever-growing audiences across Canada, not only broadening the creative dialogue on queer identity, but also championing intricate portraits of race, survivorship, and sexuality.”

Novelists Anand Mahadevan and Barry Webster received honours of distinction.

Comments are closed.

The item directly under this text is an advertisement
Book Pictures

Do you have great photos from a recent book event in Canada that you'd like to share with us? Submit them to the Quill & Quire Flickr pool and they'll show up here.

Steve Artelle

Chris Jennings

Kaie Kellough


Hall of Honourers

Brandon Wint

Eva Stachniak's Empress of the Night

Eva Stachniak poses with a copy of her book, Empress of the Night

Tea and snacks inspired by Eva Stachniak's Empress of the Night

Rimma Burashko with author Eva Stachniak

Eva Stachniak talks to the audience about the best and worst of Catherine the Great's favourites

Eva Stachniak smiles as she signs a copy of Empress of the Night for a fan

The item directly under this text is an advertisement

Recent comments